No More Mr. Nice Guy Online Support Group  

Go Back   No More Mr. Nice Guy Online Support Group > Discussion > Non-Random Thoughts from the Doc's Head

Old April 11th, 2007, 01:33 PM
Dr. Robert Glover

DrGlover has five gold stars
Setting the Tone, Taking the Lead

As a marriage therapist, I have spent the last 25 years listening to men and women talk about their relationships. Overwhelmingly, women tell me their number one issue is TRUST.

Obviously, women lose trust when their man tells lies. But it goes beyond that. They feel unsafe when their man won’t keep his word and won’t follow through. They get tired of not knowing what is going on inside their man’s head. They hate being forced to make all of the decisions. They resent their man’s passivity and passive-aggressiveness.

Women lose trust when their man won’t set the tone and take the lead. All too often, a woman has to take over the man’s job by default because the guy won’t do it. When a woman takes the lead, the guy assumes she must want to be in charge. Even though she doesn’t, once she has gotten behind the wheel, she won’t let go until she is convinced she can trust her man to take over and drive.

Women want to feel safe more than anything else. They naturally look to men for security (it starts with daddy and continues into adulthood in their intimate relationships with men). If they can’t trust the man in their life to make them feel safe, they are forced into taking charge.

When a man fails to lead and set the tone, the woman feels unsafe, loses trust in the man, loses sexual desire for him, has to escalate testing behavior, and has to become controlling (not a pretty sight).

When a man forces the woman to set the tone and take the lead, he becomes frustrated, resentful, emotionally unavailable, manipulative, passive-aggressive, and moody (also not a pretty sight).